FREE John Burns Primary iPhone & Android App

GSO Test

GSO Test

GSO Test

Home Learning

What people say about us

Please read below some of the positive comments that we have received over the years. 

9th February 2024

Haiyun Rosa Wang - WenLin Chinese School

I'd like to extend my sincere gratitude for the warm welcome and wonderful experience that my colleague, Lily Zhu, and I had during our recent visit to John Burns Primary School. It was an absolute pleasure to become part of your school community, and we are delighted to offer our review and feedback as requested.

From the moment we set foot on the school grounds, we were impressed by the impeccable cleanliness and evident organisation throughout the premises. It is evident that great care and attention are devoted to maintaining a pristine environment conducive to learning and growth. The dedication of your staff in upholding these standards is truly commendable.

Furthermore, we were thoroughly impressed by the exemplary behaviour and manners displayed by the pupils. Their enthusiasm for learning and participation in various activities was truly inspiring. It is evident that the ethos of respect and cooperation is instilled within them, fostering a positive learning environment where each child feels valued and encouraged to excel.

The teaching staff at John Burns Primary School are nothing short of brilliant in their approach to classroom management and fostering a love for learning among their students. Their dedication to nurturing the curiosity and talents of each child is evident in the engaged and enthusiastic responses we witnessed during our time with them.

Moreover, we must commend the entire school team, including the staff at the front desk, for their kindness and helpfulness throughout our visit. Their warm welcome and willingness to assist with any queries or requests truly enhanced our experience at the school.

Regarding the workshops and assembly conducted during our visit, we are thrilled to have had the opportunity to engage with the pupils and staff in such meaningful and interactive sessions. The enthusiasm and eagerness with which the children participated reflected their genuine interest and eagerness to learn, making our experience all the more rewarding.

Overall, our visit to John Burns Primary School was an unforgettable experience, and we are grateful for the opportunity to have been a part of your vibrant school community. We wholeheartedly recommend John Burns Primary School to any prospective parents or visitors seeking an exceptional educational environment where every child is nurtured to reach their full potential. 

Special thanks to Mr. Campbell, for his kind liaison in organising our visit.

Thank you once again for the privilege of visiting your esteemed institution. 

19th January 2024

Matthew Courtney - English Hubs' Early Reading Audit  

Miss D Buckley (Reading Lead) confidently leads phonics and early reading across the school. She has a secure understanding of the school's chosen SSP programme (Little Wandle). The decodable texts are resources are well organised and support the Reading Practice Sessions to run smoothly. The school have invested considerable time and resources to implement the programme well. 

It was great to see all the brilliant work that has happened at John Burns Primary School to successfully implement their chosen SSP programme.

17th January 2024

Seren Bonsels - Programmes Officer for Blueprint for All 

It was fantastic to visit John Burns yesterday and meet your students.

They were so full of energy and got stuck into all of the tasks with ease! It was great to see their creativity and watch them learn more about our guest facilitator Azeem Amir. We also appreciate the support of Mr Bambridge.

Thank you again for the opportunity to bring our programme to John Burns.  

17th December 2023

Murray Marshall - Member of the Public 

I had a wonderful train ride with some of your pupils last Wednesday. They were going to sing in Croydon and I was on my way to a funeral. They raised my spirits with their exuberance and excellent behaviour. Much discussion about what they had with them for their tea. Wish them all a happy Christmas. 

4th October 2023

Kirsty Latoya - Author of The Place for Me: Stories About the Windrush Generation


I was honoured to come in today and read the story I wrote from the book The Place for Me: Stories About the Windrush Generation! As an artist and author from Jamaica, it was lovely to read to the children, transporting them to Jamaica and taking them on the journey to England. The children listened to tales of tall palm trees and one child commented, "You're such a good storyteller", which warmed my heart. It was a beautiful experience reading to the children at John Burns Primary School and I'm very thankful for the experience!

2nd October 2023

Zoe Slatter - Primary Workshops for Schools Ltd

I had such a lovely day teaching dance at John Burns Primary School. The children were full of energy. They have the most vibrant, colourful school and library. The staff members were so helpful and all so great when supporting the children. 
John Burns Primary School is a vibrant, fun and brilliant place to be. 
Thank you for having me. 

October 2023

Claire Seeley - PSQM Reviewer

Congratulations to you all on achieving the Primary Science Quality Mark Gilt. Science is clearly going from strength to strength.

It is obvious that the school is working hard to raise the profile of science. There are lots of great initiatives such as the STEM Club and investigation morning.

Children have been on a number of visits this year including: Kew, Science Museum and the local farm. There is a real sense of your outreach to families - the investigation mornings are an example of this. When schools look outwards and link with other organisations this creates really powerful opportunities for learning and raising science capital. 

19th September 2023

Ana Popovici - Director of Children's Services (Wandsworth)

Massive congratulations to you and the team for your inspection report. You should be really proud to have cultivated such a happy and effective learning environment where children of all abilities can learn and feel safe.

I love that children in their leadership roles receive good training and are able to make a difference for their school community.

Thank you for your fantastic leadership.

19th September 2023

Lisa Fenaroli - Assistant Director (Wandsworth)

I wanted to write to congratulate you on the recently released inspection report for John Burns. 

It was lovely to read that inspectors observed your child centred relational approach, which is inclusive and allows children of all abilities to thrive and learn.

Children love and are proud of their school and this is because they feel cared for and safe. They are given every opportunity to develop holistically both inside and outside the classroom. 

Please pass my thanks onto every member of staff who not only contributed to this outcome, but for the work they do every day with children.  

14th September 2023

Amber Humphrey - TfL School Liaison Officer

I was incredibly impressed with the students at John Burns Primary School yesterday, their behaviour and input were commendable.

Students were responsive and engaged throughout the session and it made our visit one to remember.

Thank you John Burns Primary.

16th August 2023

E. Voronova - Parent

Our kids ____ and ____ joined the John Burns Primary school in September 2022. It was their first experience in the UK school, and they only knew several words in English.

The school staff and teachers have been extremely supportive and provided individual help to our kids, encouraged them to study, progress and settle in the school community really well.

At the end of the year our children demonstrate outstanding progress in all subjects, inc English, science, maths etc. All the school staff have been always very kind and cooperative, and used every opportunity to recognise children's success even if a minor one. We are very grateful to the school and definitely recommend it. 

 5th August 2023

Parent ***** 5 Star Review on snobe.co.uk

Amazing small school with huge amount of outdoor space. Children are happy and do well. I like the fact that all the staff know all the children and the children look after each other too. The teachers really do care and work hard to make sure the children achieve their best. There are plenty of resources in the school and the playground. There is a breakfast and after school care facility and lots of after school clubs. The children enjoy lots of music lessons, Italian lessons and go on lots of trips. There is also a dedicated area for Forest School. My children are very happy and safe at this school. I am more than happy to recommend this amazing school.  

19th July 2023

Nick Miller School Games Organiser and YST Inclusion Lead - Southfields Academy

Congratulations, John Burns on being awarded the Gold School Games Mark Award for 2023. 

This is a fantastic achievement and well-deserved accreditation for an ongoing commitment to providing high quality PE, Physical Activities and Sporting opportunities to ALL students in your school. 

Please pass on our congratulations to everyone involved in PE, Physical Activities and Sport at John Burns. 

The Gold SGM Award signifies that a high level of best practice has been maintained over the academic year and shows how central PE, Physical Activities and Sport has been at your school.

Congratulations once more.  

July 2023

James Flitcroft - Director of Careers/Deputy Headteacher at Chelsea Academy

I am writing to extend my sincere thanks for your generous support of work experience this year. The challenges of recent times have meant that these students have experienced a deficit of interactions with adult professionals. Your support is integral to starting to redress this balance and will form a key part of our students’ preparations for a successful future.

The time and effort that you and your colleagues put into work experience is invaluable. I would like to thank you all once again for all that you have done and look forward to working with you again in the future.

June 2023

N.Ishaq - Parent 

_______ has absolutely loved the school and it will be very hard for her to leave! I just wanted to give you all at John Burns a very big thank you for making _____ feel so loved and special at the school. You have made it very memorable for her, and she has learnt so much and created so many beautiful memories as well as made some amazing little friends! She will definitely be popping by to say hello on her visits back!  

May 2023

Spencer HC Juniors - via Twitter

Great work everyone and congratulations to @JBprimaryschool on winning the @spencer_lynx Cup.

March 2023

Debbie Huie - Wandsworth Music

Congratulations on the incredible performances on Tuesday.  We were blown away by the standard of the performances and the fact that the children took their performances to another level entirely! They were out of this world on Tuesday not only in the evening but also in the afternoon rehearsal.
 
It was wonderful to see them kick into performance mode as soon as they heard the intro to the Spice Girls! The energy was electric -  they were simply fabulous!!!! 
 
They are a credit to you all and to their families and I can only imagine how proud you must be of each and every one of them. 
 
A huge 'Thank you' for all of the work that you did to make the performances as incredible as they were and all of the extra hours of rehearsals and for attending the mass rehearsals.  Your support, enthusiasm and willingness to give so much to  your fantastic children contributed to making it a stunning evening.  There were so many moments when I was brought to tears hearing them and seeing the passion, conviction and sheer talent.  I was blown away.

December 2022

Debbie Huie - Wandsworth Music

Congratulations on a fantastic performance last week at Winter Sounds -  the children did such an incredible job and we were very proud of them all. Please let them know they were absolute superstars! Thank you also for all the support from the entire JB team.

December 2022

Mark Holliday - Chair of Governors - via Twitter

A lovely performance from all the children singing and acting their hearts out. So many adoring parents and family members filled the hall. I had the best time. Thank you JB children, parents and all the hard work of EYFS/KS1 staff. 

October 2022

Wendy Shearer Storyteller - via Twitter

Last week I visited one of my favourite schools. @JBprimaryschool and was honoured to be shown The Inspiration Wall. It's filled with stories written by Year 6 pupils dedicated to my African and Caribbean storytelling visit last year!  

September 2022

Premila Puri - Be Kind Movement - via Twitter

Well done to W Da Silva - she's lovely! Recalling our lunch experience when shooting #Newbie this summer :)  

July 2022

Daryl Radwell - Area Operations Manager

I just wanted to send a quick email about a group of your students that were just on the train from Clapham Junction and alighted at East Croydon just now.

They were so respectful of other passengers in every way and the adults with them were so good at looking after them and managing them on the train. I just wanted to bring to your attention what a lovely group of children and wonderful staff you had with them. 

June 2022

WandSchoolGames - via Twitter

Wonderful afternoon at the @JBprimaryschool Commonwealth Games Triathlon. Brilliant to see the Year 4 putting some much determination and resilience in their running, skipping and scooting events. Led by excellent junior coaches.   

August 2021

R.Drake - Parent

Our daughters were extremely happy at John Burns and were very proud of their school. As parents, we think it’s a fantastic school and achieves a great balance of being both nurturing and academically ambitious for its pupils.