• nhmy1

Curriculum Maps


John Burns Primary School - Curriculum Topics 2018/2019


  Autumn 1 Autumn 2 Spring 1 Spring 2 Summer 1 Summer 2

Paws, Claws and Whiskers


Big Lights Big City

Zoom to the Moon

Rio de Vida

Enchanted Wood


The Scented Garden

Wiggle and Crawl

Towers, Tunnels and Turrets

Street Detectives


Land Ahoy




Gods and Mortals

Mighty Metals


Tribal Tales



Misty Mountain Sierra

I am Warrior

Traders and Raiders

Blue Abyss

Bottoms, Bumps and Bile 


Star Gazers

Off with her Head


Time Traveller

Beast Creator



Child's War

Frozen Kingdom

Darwin's Delight

Hola Mexico

Blood Heart

Memories and Moving On


Curriculum Aims

The aims of the curriculum are to:

  • Provide a broad and balanced creative curriculum to ensure children develop a range of knowledge, skills and understanding 

  • Enable children to develop the skills and attributes needed to be successful learners

  • Promote high standards in reading, writing and maths

  • Encourage creative thinking and problem solving 

  • Provide opportunities for speaking and listening activities such as debates and discussions as well as risk taking and enquiry so children actively take responsibility for their own learning and development 

  • Encourage children to be self-reflective about themselves and their work 

  • Provide stimulating, engaging lessons, which spark children’s interest in learning and develop a love of learning 

  • Promote the school values so that children develop empathy for others and are encouraged to develop spiritually and morally

  • Provide opportunities to practice personal and social skills through working independently and collaboratively 

  • Expect the best possible attainment and progress for all pupils


The National Curriculum

In Key Stages 1 and 2 The National Curriculum is followed which comprises 3 core subjects and the Foundation subjects. The core subjects are English, Maths and Science.

The Foundation subjects are Art, Design Technology, Geography, History, ICT, Music, Physical Education, Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE) including Citizenship and Religious Education. John Burns welcomes pupils from all religious backgrounds and this is reflected in our multi-faith R.E.curriculum and assemblies. 

Pupils are encouraged to share their religious beliefs and customs to celebrate the school’s cultural diversity.  Parents have the right to withdraw their child from R.E. lessons or assemblies with a written request to the Headteacher.

Daily lessons of English and Maths are taught in Key Stages 1 and 2.

The Foundation Stage

The Nursery Curriculum covers the seven areas of learning as listed in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).  These areas are Communication and Language, Physical Development, Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design. The Nursery fosters children’s learning through a programme of structured play that supports and extends children’s early development.

We are fortunate at John Burns to have a spacious outdoor play and garden area, which is used for exploring the natural world as well as providing opportunities for physical development.

The Reception year builds upon and extends the children’s experience in the Nursery, gradually moving towards a more structured programme and incorporating daily Literacy and Numeracy lessons.

Key Stage 1

Children between the ages of 5 - 7 years are in Key Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2).  Children begin The National Curriculum in Year 1 which is taught through the International Primary Curriculum. The school uses Read Write Inc. to support the teaching of phonics and a range of different reading schemes to provide a broad variety of different reading books.  At the end of Year 1 children undertake a phonics screening test and at the end of Year 2 they are assessed against National Curriculum levels in Reading Writing and Maths.  The results of these are reported to parents.

The two Key Stage 1 classes work closely together sharing many facilities and learning experiences.  Each class has a teacher and a teaching assistant.  The phase is managed by a senior teacher.

Key Stage 2

This third phase provides an education for children between 7 – 11 years (Years 3, 4, 5 and 6).  In Key Stage 2 children continue to follow the National Curriculum culminating in Year 6 with the statutory testing referred to as SATs.

To find out more about The National Curriculum click here.